North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology,Orissa



Soon after independence  it  was realized by the  Government of India that key  to more and  efficient agricultural production is a  coordinated system of  agricultural education, research and extension, suiting  to  unique needs and  requirement of the  farmers of Orissa.

University  Education Commission, popularly known as  Radhakrishnan  Commission, was appointed to  review the  higher agricultural education in India. The  Commission recommended  the  establishment of autonomous rural universities,  recognizing Agricultural  Education as a major  national priority. The  first  Joint Indo-American  Team in 1955 recommended that  the  development of Agricultural  Universities  should be  assisted by  substantial grand -in- aid from the Centre to ensure autonomy and operation. The recommendations included establishment of agricultural universities at six places including Bhubaneswar in Orissa. The second Joint Indo-American Team recommended complete integration of teaching, research and extension at the college level. An Agricultural University Committee headed by Dr Ralph W. Cummings in 1962 recommended the establishment of State Agricultural Universities in each state with responsibility for work in agriculture including animal science, home science and other allied sciences on the pattern of U. S. Land Grant College system and provided guidelines for developing SAUs.

As a result, Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology (OUAT) came in to existence as the second  Agricultural  University, on 24th August, 1962 through an act passed by the Orissa Legislative Assembly. Under the USAID programme, OUAT developed linkages with the University of Missouri and Mississipi, a Land Grant University of the US, to strengthen its teaching, research and  extension programmes. At present, the University has  8 constituent colleges. The University has separate wings for Research, Extension Education and Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation.

Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology is at the heart of Bhubaneswar (Latitude : 20 15'N, Longitude : 85 52' E), the capital city of Orissa , which is situated at an altitude of 25.9 meters above the sea level. It has a bracing climate with the normal maximum and minimum temperatures of 32.4C & 25C respectively. The annual rainfall is 1450 mm, out of which about 80% is received during the monsoon season from June to October.  

The Emblem of the University is designed with the Konark temple, a bullock, plough and corns, a tractor and a pump. The temple represents the State of Orissa, the architects of which dedicated to posterity the fantasy of conceiving and creating with thousands of pieces of cold stone such a righteous harmony by their mutual cooperation and will. The bullock represents the Animal husbandry and Veterinary Science and the plough and corn the Agricultural Science. The tractor stands for the Agro-Engineering and Technological appliances and the pump for irrigation.  

The Governor of Orissa is the Ex-Offcio Chancellor of the University. The Vice-chancellor is the Chief Executive and Chairman of the Board of Management and Academic Council, Registrar, Deans of the Faculties, Dean of Research, Dean of Extension Education, Director of Physical Plant and the Controller are the statutory Officers of the University.